Negativity / Positivity

Dealing with customer complaints is tricky. In business, issues will arise. There’s no way around it. Even with what you think is great customer service, the customer’s thinking might be negative. It happens. Perception of the same event or situation can be radically different from one person to the next.

Today was one of those days. Situations in the past came back up and a customer I thought was satisfied filed a complaint. The sad thing is that I had no clue he was discontent with my service. I could blame the customer for being difficult and unhappy in general, but that doesn’t solve anything. Although I don’t agree with his statement in the complaint, it does make me aware that I need to be careful with how I present myself and the company.

Not everyday is one full of complaints and difficult situations. That comes with the territory. Today was particularly tough though. After a day like today, one might be ready to throw in the towel. I know I need to keep at it and not stop. It’s been said that many people quit trying just before they’re truly successful. That’s one principle I keep right up front in my mind.

At the end of the day, keeping a positive attitude is what makes the difference. Positivity is infectious. Even faced with overwhelming negativity, positivity is the counterbalance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

